Favourite authors…

April 10, 2014 at 9:19 pm (Book reviews, Favourite books) (, , )

gspells_booksA friend posted this challenge on my Facebook wall the other day…

The Rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen authors (poets included) who’ve influenced you and that will always stick with you. List the first 15 you can recall. Tag at least 15 friends, including me, because I’m interested in seeing what authors my friends choose. To do this, copy this intro and start your list.

I’m sure I’ve forgotten a couple, but here is a start:

Anne Rice, Sarah Addison Allen, Juliet Marillier, Paulo Coelho, Shirley MacLaine, JK Rowling, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Philip Pullman, Joanne Harris, Jorge Amado, Michelle Lovric, Richard Dawkins, OR Melling, Jillian Michaels, Stephenie Meyer, Mitch Albom…

Anne Rice was my favourite author for years and years, and I still adore her books. She writes so vividly and lushly, so poetically, and her characters are so wonderfully flawed and fascinating. Visiting her house in New Orleans was amazing, because it was absolutely the way it was in my head in her amazing Lives of the Mayfair Witches series, and I adored being able to sit in the same cafe as the Vampire Lestat and nurse a cup of coffee like he did…

Sarah Addison Allen is one of my favourite writers now – she writes so beautifully, so magically, and her books are such a joy to fall into…

Juliet Marillier is another favourite, perhaps my very favourite? Her books are so full of magic and mystery, intrigue and history, larger-than-life characters, the Otherworld, the magic of this world, just so beautifully rich and lush and magical…

I adore Paulo Coelho too, The Alchemist was hugely inspiring, and I love so many of his books (although his recent ones haven’t moved me as much, sadly)… Interviewing him was a joy.

Shirley MacLaine made me want to travel to Peru, and was really formative on my inner search many years ago. And while I concede that some of her theories and beliefs are a little too out there for me, I have boundless respect for the way she has challenged people spiritually and pushed our boundaries, and made all kinds of alternative spiritual searching acceptable. She’s certainly a trail blazer…

The Harry Potter series is one of my favourite ever – I love the books and the movies, and the beauty of JK’s writing. I also enjoyed her Casual Vacancy book, in totally different ways to Harry – and admire her greatly for writing what she wants to write after the success of Harry. It would have been easier to continue in her magical world, but she has been brave enough to follow her muse and not care about the response…

The Mists of Avalon is still one of my favourite books – it’s so beautifully written, so magical, and has opened so many people’s eyes to the spirituality and beliefs of pagan England. I love her characters, her championing of a woman who has been so vilified throughout history, and the incredible research she did to create a world that is so totally believable and heart-touching…

Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials are also on my favourite books ever list – I love his writing, his characters, his subversive deeper meanings and dark truths. I loved the movie too, and so wish it had done better so there would be more…

I love Joanne Harris’s books like I love Sarah Addison Allen’s – so much magic woven into the stories, so much love and mystery and vivid sight-sound-taste-touch-feeling…

I read some of Jorge Amado’s books when I was in Brasil, which no doubt influenced my adventures there…

Richard Dawkins inspires me so much. I love that he sees so much magic in this world, that he loves the phenomena he describes even more because he understands how it works, like rainbows, and he brings so much passion and joy and enthusiasm to the magic of science that he can’t helpbut inspire others to love it too.

I read Michelle Lovric’s Undrowned Child while researching and writing Mermaid Magic, and adored her Venice and her mermaids, and the other books I’ve read of hers since. 

I read OR Melling’s The Chronicles of Faerie while I was researching and writing Faery Magic, and they were so beautiful, so vivid, so steeped in myth and legend and so deeply touching.

I love Jillian Michaels – she inspires me so much, her workouts had a huge influence on me, and I love her attitude and her advice, both in her podcasts and her books. She kicks butt, she doesn’t believe in excuses, and she’s an incredible motivator.

After I finished writing Seven Sacred Sites, I took a week off and read Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Series, one book after the other, reading all day, staying up half the night, gulping them down all at once. And I loved them. I love the way she writes, her characters, her stories, and the fact that other people hate them means nothing to me – I enjoyed them, and I love the movies, and hats off to her, Twilight was quite the phenomenon…

I still haven’t actually read Tuesdays With Morrie, although I have it, but I absolutely loved Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet In Heaven. Such an amazing premise…

Leave a Reply

