With thanks… Our beautiful week in Glastonbury…

November 29, 2013 at 10:49 am (Uncategorized)

With thanks… Friday November 22… last day in Scotland…

Today I am grateful for fun Harry Potter moments 🙂 We drove along the shores of Loch Linnhe and Loch Eil, which was so beautiful, all shining mirror calm surface and sunshine and autumn leaves, to Glenfinnan Viaduct, the awesome old bridge that the Hogwarts Express goes over, and Harry and Ron fly their car through…

And I’m grateful for the pretty drive from Fort William to Moffat, along many gorgeous lochs, and through snow-covered mountains, stopping for a sandwich and a pot of tea at Orchy Bridge, laughing as the temperature dropped to zero degrees, and driving through Aberfoyle – the famous faery town – just before sunset. It was amazing, approaching the town it was all gnarled old trees that looked like little old men crossed with the darker Brian Froud fae folk, which lit up into a beautiful faery forest when the sun shone on the autumn coloured leaves, but looked altogether more dark and unwelcoming when she sun hid behind a cloud. Aberfoyle was gorgeous, all old stone building and tea rooms and medieval charm, and it was cool to drive past Doon Hill (Reverend Kirk’s reputed faery hill), although unfortunately night was pressing in by then – that spooky liminal time – and we had to press on, manoeuvring our way through Glasgow and heading down to Moffat and a cute B&B… Funnily enough, I chose Moffat because of its location, somewhere we could easily get to from Fort William, but far enough south that our drive the next day to Glastonbury wouldn’t be too arduous – but the owners of our cottages in both Orkney and the Outer Hebrides love it there, and had been recently, the first to see friends I think, and the second because of the touching memorial there both to the Lockerbie victims and the men of Lewis and other Scottish places who died in the wars.

I’m not so grateful for the shocking migraine I woke up with at 2am, which wouldn’t budge all day, despite lots of painkillers, and made everything  harder to deal with. Nor for the tomato poisoning at an Indian restaurant (or their surprising rudeness). It stopped me doing Jillian yoga, and kept me up half the night with stabbing tummy pains and mark two of the all-day migraine – but it’s a footnote, not my whole day, and I’ll focus only on the fun stuff…

 

With thanks… Saturday November 23… Scotland to Glastonbury…

Tonight I am grateful that we crossed through the mists into Glastonbury, such a magical place for us both… It was so beautiful, driving towards the town as the sun was preparing to set, the sky all pink and gold, mists shrouding the valleys, and the Tor becoming visible when we were still quite far away, lit up against a pink that perfectly matched the cover of A Magical Journey. We found our little cottage while it was still light, then wandered up the High Street to buy groceries (I was so happy to find sprouts for my salad for the first time on our England/Scotland travels). It was gorgeous, all Christmasy and festive, with decorations and trees and lights, and the air chilly against the fading late sunset glow. Then we settled down with cups of tea and cookies to watch The Day of the Doctor, the special 50th anniversary show for Doctor Who, which was so amazing and sweet and touching and happy/sad…

Today I’m also glad I got up early to do Jillian yoga before our last Scottish B&B brekkie, and grateful for the new Michael Monroe CD, and a Terrorvision best of I bought (I was reminded of them and how much I liked them while driving past Bradford and Leeds on the way north, as they were from there). It was a long drive today, from Scotland into the top of England then almost to the bottom, but we turned up the music and stopped here and there for chai (we’re not fond of Costa coffee, but they do great chai), and made it to our destination just in time to see the sky aflame. And now I’m looking forward to spending our last five days here, climbing the Tor, hanging out at Chalice Well Gardens, and catching up on my novel writing…

 

With thanks… Sunday November 24… NaNoWriMo – 3100 words… Glastonbury…

Today I am grateful for a lazy day, and rare time that I chose to curl up on the couch and read a book rather than madly writing. I’ve been rationing myself on reading, since I still have a way to go to catch up on my own novel, but today I decided I could relax for a little while – and that we kind of needed to. I’ve LOVED every single thing we’ve seen and done while on this journey, but it has been a little on the frantic side. So it was bliss to decide to just chill out today, and soak up the Glastonbury vibes from our little cottage 🙂

So I’m grateful for a fun day with Cutes, making each other cups of tea, having a few choc chip cookies, reading a bit of online news together, and finally working out how to hook up the dvd player…

And I’m glad that I got motivated in the afternoon – I did Jillian yoga level two, then half of level one just to add a few more sequences – then after grocery shopping and town wandering, dinner and Green Lantern (such a random collection on dvds in the cottage, but it was pretty cool), I sat down and wrote more than three thousand words before falling into bed… I’m getting there!

 

With thanks… Monday November 25… NaNowriMo – 7000 words… Glastonbury…

Today I am grateful for the beauty of the Tor, and the joy of climbing it and sitting at the summit, and the incredible views off in every direction – such a pretty and green and gentle landscape, where we both feel so at home and at peace… It’s the one place of everywhere we’ve been that Juz has felt a real connection to, he respects the history and the awe-inspiring nature of all the stones and cairns and mountains and Neolithic villages we’ve seen, but the place he really feels the energy and the magic is here, in my favourite place, the place where we came on our honeymoon and he surprised himself by falling in love with it. And it was so beautiful to see it weaving its way around him again – and so cute to see a raven walking up the path in front of him, hopping up the steps rather than flying, keeping to his pace, as if guiding him into the heart of the mystery. 

We sat up there for a while, just soaking it all in, then we drank some water from the White Spring, and wandered around town again too, and hung out in a café for a while, and I fell in love with a dress and Juz bought it for me for Christmas 🙂 And I ate raspberries and we drank tea and chilled out and just felt happy to be alive!

I’m glad too that I set my alarm and got up early and started writing – nothing like an impending deadline to get me motivated and get me focused 🙂 I wrote close to three thousand words before brekkie and Jillian yoga, then another thousand odd in the afternoon, then another few thousand working into the night. So I am grateful to Juz for his patience and encouragement, and that we still got to do lots together – it’s amazing how focused I can be when I have to be!

 

With thanks… Tuesday November 26… NaNoWriMo – 2100 words… Glastonbury…

Today I am so so grateful to a dear friend for coming down from Stratford to spend the day with us. We had a beautiful afternoon, meeting for lunch after the Well, then coming back to our place and drinking tea and talking and sharing and marvelling at friendship despite distance. So many beautiful moments, and such simple ones, just enjoying each other’s company, and talking, and drinking tea and eating cookies… It was so sad to say goodbye at the end of the night, but so wonderful to have shared some more precious moments…

And I’m glad I set the alarm again, and got up early to write just over two thousand words before I did Jillian yoga then wandered around town with Juz before meeting our friend. I was feeling more tired, less inspired by late tonight, so was happy I’d written enough in the morning to be happy with for my daily word count. I’m nearly there! It has been a bit harder than I anticipated, doing NaNoWriMo while travelling, partly because there were quite  few days where I didn’t write a single word, so the days when I did required far more words to keep up. But I always love a challenge, and I honestly don’t feel that I’ve missed out on anything because I was writing. And I think some of my travels have woven themselves into my tale…

 

With thanks… Wednesday November 27… NaNoWriMo – 5000 words… Glastonbury…

Today I am grateful for time at Chalice Well, sitting by the Well, walking through the gardens, admiring the beauty of the grounds in the winter – new colours, less flowers, but still just as much magic. The sky was a bit grey, but it just seemed to make everything even more vivid than usual. So peaceful and nurturing…

And I’m grateful to Juz for a very cute present. When we got to the Well at the back of the gardens, there was a little black jewellery box sitting on the stones around the lid. I figured maybe someone had left it there as an offering to the spirits of the Well, so I didn’t move it. But it turns out it was the beautiful necklace I’d really loved in one of the Glastonbury shops – a cute sneaky present for me from Juz.

I got up early and wrote two thousand words (NaNoWriMo is coming to an end, and I’m nearly there!), then did Jillian yoga, then we headed out for lunch in a sweet café, then wandered around town before going to the gardens. Then we had a lovely night at home in our little cottage, before I wrote another three thousand words… We’re sad that tomorrow is our last day, but we’ve had such an awesome time…

 

With thanks… Thursday November 28… Avebury and Stonehenge, and last night in Glastonbury…

Tonight I am grateful for our night-time walk up the Tor, which was so beautiful. We didn’t get back from our day-time adventure until long after sunset, but we figured we couldn’t leave without one last climb. I was a bit nervous (it would have sucked to fall over and break my leg, since we have to drive back to London early tomorrow, and I am clumsy), but I really wanted to do it. It was cool walking along the ivy-covered faery forest walkway to the base, then it all opened out in front of us, and there was just enough of a glow to make our way up the slopes to the misty top. So beautiful.

And I’m grateful for our little adventure to Stonehenge and Avebury today, and so happy that they are both still so amazingly impressive and awe-inspiring, even when we’ve been so many times in the past. And even when it was just a normal visit to the Henge, walking around the outside with everyone else rather than inside the circle, the stones were still beautiful, still so imposing. It was a bit odd getting there – they’re building the new visitor centre, a long way from the stones, so that eventually they can close down the road that runs right past them, and let them have a bit more space to breathe. It looks like it might take a while though 🙂 And Avebury was still gorgeous too. The sky was grey, but it just gave the whole place a more mysterious air. Such a pretty drive too, all green fields and gentle slopes…

And now home to our little cottage for our last night in Glastonbury. We’re sad to be heading home, but we’ll be back again one day… And we’re so grateful for our magical journey, for all the amazing things we’ve seen and the cool things we’ve experienced over the last month, for time together, away from work and stuff, for time with a sweet friend, for scones and cups of tea, and for working out every day even though we were on holiday. And I’m happy that I managed to write my fifty thousand words for NaNoWriMo. It was a bit of a struggle (although that’s kind of the point), but I was determined…  

 

Leave a Reply

