Why Blessed Bee?

July 27, 2011 at 2:41 am (Bees, Magic) (, , , )

From my blog, October 2008…

I thought long and hard about a name for my little publishing empire 🙂
I wanted it to reflect me, and this book [Seven Sacred Sites: Magical Journeys That Will Change Your Life], but also be relevant for future books I will write. And so “Blessed Bee” was born.
It comes partly from “Blessed be”, a magical charm and pagan blessing. Witches and other magical practitioners say “Blessed be” as a form of welcome and of farewell, and within rituals. It has a similar meaning to the eastern blessing Namaste – “The divine within me recognises the divine within you.” It is a reminder of how beautiful each person, and the world, is, how blessed we are to be here, and a reminder to appreciate every sacred moment. It encapsulates love, forgiveness, gratitude, inner strength and power… Some consider it a wish for good health, love and happiness, others that it’s encouraging you to be a blessed person and to find the sacred within your self.
And one of my Cute Husbee’s nicknames for me is “Cute Bee”, because when we walk through the streets of our neighbourhood I always stop to smell the flowers (the star jasmine that’s blooming everywhere right now is so beautiful).
They seemed to fit well together, hence Blessed Bee. And now when we watch Charmed together we always smile when their grandma arrives, and later farewells the girls, with “Blessed be.”
* Juz drew the bee, which is not only a tattoo on my wrist, but also now, in July 2011, appears on the spine of my four books, seven mini books and meditation CD.

The Fivefold Kiss
In some pagan rituals the Fivefold Kiss is performed, as a way to recognise the inherent beauty and divinity of each person…
Blessed be thy feet, that have brought thee in these ways.
Blessed be thy knees, that shall kneel at the sacred altar.
Blessed be thy womb, without which we would not be.
Blessed be thy breasts, formed in beauty.
Blessed be thy lips, that shall utter the Sacred Names.

And from Thursday October 9, 2008…

It was a long and winding journey, but I’m finally holding a copy of my first book in my hands! Who knew when I set out on this writing adventure in the autumn of 2006 that I would end up breaking my contract and designing and publishing the book myself! It’s been challenging and terrifying and quite the endurance test at times, but having the finished copy makes it all worthwhile. And now it’s going out into the world, which is even more scary in a way 🙂 A new journey begins…

1 Comment

  1. Some Old Blogs… – Serene Conneeley said,

    […] Why Blessed Bee? […]

Leave a Reply

